Meet Our Team

Director

 
Carrie J. Finno, DVM, Ph.D., Diplomate ACVIM (LA)

(530) 752-2739
cjfinno@ucdavis.edu

Dr. Carrie Finno is an equine internist who received her DVM from the University of Minnesota (UMN) in 2004. She completed an internship in large animal medicine and surgery at UMN in 2005 and then went on to complete a three-year residency in large animal internal medicine at UC Davis, culminating in board-certification in the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. Dr. Finno elected to pursue a career in equine genetic research, with a strong focus on neuromuscular disease, and obtained her Ph.D. in 2012 from UC Davis. In addition to her role as Director at Center for Equine Health, Dr. Finno is an assistant professor in the Department of Population Health and Reproduction.

Administrative Staff

 
Kaylie Kingston

Management Services Officer
(530) 754-7572
kjkingston@ucdavis.edu

Jaclyn R. Urzua

Equine Control Coordinator
jrurzua@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-6433

Amy Young
Amy Young

Equine Outreach Manager
ayoung@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-9054

Animal Care Staff

 
Tatiana Viau, DVM

Animal Resource Manager
(530) 752-2073
tlviau@ucdavis.edu

Ashley York

Animal Health Technician
(530) 752-6433
aeyork@ucdavis.edu

 

 

Grace Angelos

Animal Health Technician
(530) 752-6433
gmangelo@ucdavis.edu

Jennifer Struble

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
jastruble@ucdavis.edu

 

Dawne Roper

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
dmroper@ucdavis.edu

Kaci Hume

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
kjhume@ucdavis.edu

Animal Technicians

 
 

Photo of CEH grounds crew

Our wonderful crew, consisting of (L to R) Sergio Lopez-Arreola, Guillermo Gamez, Devin Roberts, Jose Cabrera, Jose 'JJ' Cisneros, and Oscar Quezada, work hard to keep our stalls, barns and grounds clean and neat and our horses well fed.

Emeriti Directors

 
Claudia Sonder, DVM
2013-2016
Gregory Ferraro
Gregory Ferraro, DVM
1997-2012
John Pascoe
John Pascoe, BVSc, Ph.D.
1997
David Wilson
David Wilson, BVMS, M.S.
1995-1996
 
John Hughes, DVM
1979-1995
 
Humphrey Knight, DVM
1977-1979