Meet Our Team

Director

 
Dr Finno

Carrie J. Finno, DVM, Ph.D., Diplomate ACVIM (LA)

(530) 752-2739
cjfinno@ucdavis.edu

Dr. Carrie Finno is an equine internist who received her DVM from the University of Minnesota (UMN) in 2004. She completed an internship in large animal medicine and surgery at UMN in 2005 and then went on to complete a three-year residency in large animal internal medicine at UC Davis, culminating in board-certification in the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. Dr. Finno elected to pursue a career in equine genetic research, with a strong focus on neuromuscular disease, and obtained her Ph.D. in 2012 from UC Davis. In addition to her role as Director at Center for Equine Health, Dr. Finno is an Associate Professor and Associate Researcher in the Department of Population Health and Reproduction.

Administrative Staff

 
Kaylie Kingston

Kaylie Kingston

Management Services Officer
(530) 754-7572
kjkingston@ucdavis.edu

Jaclyn Urzua

Jaclyn R. Urzua

Business Officer
(530) 752-6433
jrurzua@ucdavis.edu

Amy Young

Amy Young

Equine Outreach Manager
(530) 752-9054
ayoung@ucdavis.edu

Animal Care Staff

 
Tatiana Viau

Tatiana Viau, DVM

Animal Resource Manager
(530) 752-2073
tlviau@ucdavis.edu

Ashley Tafoya

Ashley Tafoya

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
aeyork@ucdavis.edu

Jennifer Struble

Jennifer Struble

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
jastruble@ucdavis.edu

Dawne Roper

Dawne Roper

Animal Health Technician III, CEM Quarantine Lead
(530) 752-6433
dmroper@ucdavis.edu

Kaci Hume

Kaci Hume

Animal Health Technician II
(530) 752-6433
kjhume@ucdavis.edu

Animal Technicians

 
 

Photo of CEH grounds crew

Our wonderful crew, consisting of (L to R) Sergio Lopez-Arreola, Guillermo Gamez, Devin Roberts, Jose Cabrera, Jose 'JJ' Cisneros, and Oscar Quezada, work hard to keep our stalls, barns and grounds clean and neat and our horses well fed.

Emeriti Directors

 
Claudia Sonder

Claudia Sonder, DVM
2013-2016

Gregory Ferraro

Gregory Ferraro, DVM
1997-2012

John Pascoe

John Pascoe, BVSc, Ph.D.
1997

David Wilson

David Wilson, BVMS, M.S.
1995-1996

John Hughes

John Hughes, DVM
1979-1995

 

Humphrey Knight, DVM
1977-1979